I am renowned for getting lost so I was actually looking for somewhere else when I came  across the sign for Whelford Pools Nature Reserve and thought I’d stop for a look. This was a stroke of luck, although I’ll plan a return visit with a) binoculars, b) a longer lens for the camera and c) sturdier footwear than sandals. Nevertheless less I had an enjoyable hour or so walking around the reserve.

Although part of the Cotswold Water Park (Lakes 111 and 111b) the area is managed by Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust and the lakes are formed from two former gravel pits. The display at the entrance indicated walks that went right and included two hides or left along the other edge of the lake, I later discovered that this route could continue on to a longer walk which I’ll return to try another day.

I took the right hand route first and was amazed at how the grass seemed to be alive with damselflies, I’m not sure I’ve ever seen so many. I managed to spot some larger dragonflies and there were a few species of butterfly darting about – but too tricky to get a photo of them!

I’d have had better luck using the hides if I’d taken binoculars and although I could see a few birds using the tern rafts I’d need to be convinced that these were terns and not black headed gulls.

Returning to the entrance and then following the right-hand path took a route through the trees which then opened out at a lovely spot with a bench before continuing to join up with other lakes an a potentially longer, circular route.

Have you been to the reserve before or do you have a suggestion for somewhere else in the water park to see wildlife?